Cup Final errors cost referee international status

Cup Final errors cost referee international status

    0
    Boca Juniors
    Errors in Boca Juniors’ Cup success cost referee Diego Ceballos his international status

    Argentinian official Diego Ceballos has been dropped from the International Referees’ Register, following two major blunders in the Copa Argentina Final.

    Ceballos took charge of the Final between Boca Juniors and Rosario Central at the beginning of November, and was at fault for Boca’s opener, wrongly awarding a penalty for a foul that was committed outside the box.

    Rosario were further aggrieved when Boca doubled their advantage with a goal that should have been flagged as offside, and now the Argentinian Football Association have stepped in by stripping the 37-year-old of his international status.

    Ceballos, who has been a FIFA official since 2013, has been suspended on the domestic front too, with the AFA not giving a time limit on the ban.

    Check out the two incidents that led to Ceballos’ ban below.